top of page

RISHIKESH: Yoga Capital of the World

Updated: Jun 6, 2022

Rishikesh is known as the "Yoga capital of the world," as it is the birthplace of this renowned practice that is thought to be beneficial to both the mind and the body. One can also experience 200 hours Yoga course.

There's a lot more to it than just running through vinyasas while mouthing "Om Shanti"

The Hindu pilgrimage destination that sits calmly on both sides of the sacred ganges river has recently become a hotspot for outdoor sports, in addition to being a melting pot of worldly minds.

With a plethora of ashrams adorning the town, Rishikesh provides keen visitors with the unique opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of the yogic lifestyle, how gurus live, simplicity, and the non-materialistic universe. Visitors from all over the world come here to witness the Indian tradition, the various festivals and the enchanting sacred rituals practised here.

Yoga Color Therapy

When defining the seven major chakras of the body, Indian Ayurveda traditionally refers to colours as sources of subtle energy. They represent a nexus of metaphysical energies that run the length of the body, literally corresponding to various organs and glands from the base of the spine to the top of the head. They are also known as 'auras,' because they vibrate around the body at specific frequencies, projecting electromagnetic fields that can be interpreted into rainbow colours. Color Therapy is a fantastic technique to incorporate into your Yoga practice.

For example, if you're having a bad day and don't have the energy to get out of bed, surround yourself with Red and Violet. These colours will enliven your spirit, re-energize your body, and change your mood for the better. Blue, Green, and Indigo colours will quiet your racing thoughts, reduce muscle and joint tension, and provide awareness and attention if you're agitated, restless, or can't seem to concentrate.

Yog Kriya

In the distant past, India's enlightened sages discovered the spiritual science of yoga kriya. In the Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna praises it. In his yoga sutras, the sage Patanjali mentions it. Yog Kriya was forgotten for millennia in the dark ages until

Mahavatar Babaji revived it in modern times. The quickest and most successful way to achieve yoga's purpose is to use meditation techniques that deal directly with energy and consciousness. The unique system of meditation taught by Paramahansa Yogananda is

characterized by this direct approach.

Kriya is an advanced Raja yoga practice that reinforces and revitalizes subtle currents of life energy in the body, allowing the heart and lungs to natural

ly slow down their activity. As a result, the consciousness is driven to greater levels of perception, resulting in an inner awakening that is more pleasant and deeply rewarding than any experience the mind, senses, or regular human emotions can provide

Ashtanga yoga is a method of cleansing the physical, mental, and emotional bodies. Thepractise consists of a series of asanas that are repeated. Ashtanga is a rigorous practise for advanced students or those wishing to improve their body's strength.

Hatha yoga balances masculine and feminine energy on a physical, mental, and emotional level, one position at a time. Hatha yoga lessons are ideal for beginners to familiarise themselves with the various asanas or to deepen their practise.

Vinayasa yoga is free, dynamic, fluid, and creative, synchro

nising movement with breath. Throughout the various asana sequences, the body and the breath become one. The body is cleansed as a result of this harmony.

Jnana yoga is the process of transforming intellectual knowledge into practical wisdom It's a revelation of human dharma in relation to nature and the cosmos. Tradition describes Jnana Yoga as a method of attaining the ultimate meditative state and inner understanding.

Iyengar yoga key values include comprehension, breath, movement, alignment, and props. steady and deliberate practise can help you gain a

better understanding of your body and mind.

Mantra yoga is stated that anyone who can recite or sing Vedas can obtain ultimate salvation or union with supreme awareness only by reciting the mantras.

Bhakti yoga is a devotional or total faith Yoga. In general, this confidence is in God or supreme consciousness in any of its forms. It might be Lord Rama, Krishna, Christ, Mohammed, Buddha, or someone else entirely. It might be a Guru for his followers.

Raja Yoga is a comprehensive yoga system that addresses the refinement of human behaviour and personality through the practise of the yamas (restr

aint) and niyamas (disciplines)

Kundalini yoga is the approach of awakening that entails focusing intensely on these chakras and urging them to arouse. Asanas, pranayama, mudra, and bandha, as well as other kinds of Yoga such as Mantra Yoga, are utilised to promote awareness.

Kriya yoga is a type of yoga that dates back to antiquity and has grown over time as a result of practise and experience. There are around 70 kriyas in the whole form of Kriya Yoga, however only about 20 are well-known.

Karma yoga is a path of job dedication. While working, one loses his individuality; only unselfish work remains. This is a difficult state to achieve. Generally, some sort of reward, incentive, or outcome is associated with the labour, and one is tied to this reward or incentive.

Swara yoga is a Sanskrit term that refers to a sound or a note. It's also when air flows continuously through one nostril. Swara yoga is a science that entails the attainment of cosmic awareness through the control and manipulation of breath. Yoga means union, hence Swara yoga is a science that entails the control and manipulation of breath.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page